JEDEC Applauds 2008 Chairman's Award Recipients

Arlington, VA - December 8, 2008 - JEDEC Solid State Technology Association today announced the
recipients of its 2008 Chairman's Awards. Presented at a recent quarterly meeting, these awards honor
member volunteers who have made outstanding contributions to their respective committees within the
past year.

In recognition of their exceptional contributions to the DDR3 Memory Buffer Standardization Process,
awards were presented to:

Oliver Kiehl, Qimonda
Myron Miske, Fairchild Semiconductor
Sung-Joo Park, Samsung

Additionally, the following members were honored:

Kuljit Bains, Intel - dedicated support of DDR4 SDRAM development

J. S. Choi, Samsung - outstanding contributions to the DDR3 SDRAM Standard development

Jim Foster, IBM – for continuous dedicated service to JEDEC Memory Standards through his expertise in
High Performance System Design

Belal Gharaibeh, HP - outstanding contributions to Memory Module Standards from the user's

Takahiro Shiratori, sponsored by Elpida - outstanding contributions to the DDR2 Registered DIMM
Design Specification (Rev. 4.00)

Ricki Williams, Sun Microsystems - outstanding contributions to FB-DIMM High Speed Link System
Level Analysis

"The contributions of these dedicated volunteers are critical to the success of the standards development
process within JEDEC," said Mian Quddus, Chairman of the JEDEC Board of Directors. He added, "We
are grateful for the commitment these individuals and their companies have made to the development of
open industry standards."


JEDEC is the leading developer of standards for the solid-state industry. Almost 3300 participants,
appointed by some 295 companies work together in 50 JEDEC committees to meet the needs of every
segment of the industry, manufacturers and consumers alike. The publications and standards that they
generate are accepted throughout the world. All JEDEC standards are available online, at no charge.
More information is available at