JEDEC Awards: 2024 Honorees

JEDEC Board members George Vergis (left), Belal Gharaibeh and Chairman Mian Quddus present Pat Gelsinger, Intel CEO, with the association's Distinguished Executive Leadership Award for 2024.

Each year, JEDEC acknowledges the contributions of member company representatives who have demonstrated outstanding effort and dedication in support of the development of open industry standards in JEDEC, beyond the normal scope of committee activities.

JEDEC is honored to congratulate the following 2024 award winners and their companies.

Distinguished Executive Leadership Award

The JEDEC Distinguished Executive Leadership Award honors the most distinguished senior executives in the electronics industry who have promoted and supported the advancement of JEDEC standards. These leaders are truly the pace setters of the industry through the companies they build and the teams they support to make the industry better for everyone through open standards development. Recipients of this award have distinguished themselves by providing long-term support for JEDEC participation at a strategic or managerial level over many years.

JEDEC is delighted to congratulate Pat Gelsinger, CEO of Intel, on receiving the 2024 JEDEC Distinguished Executive Leadership Award. Throughout Mr. Gelsinger’s illustrious career, he has been a strong proponent of open standards as evidenced by Intel’s historic leadership in developing standards, including significant contributions to groundbreaking memory and IO technologies in JEDEC.

Award of Excellence

The Award of Excellence is the most prestigious technical award bestowed by the Association, and recognizes an individual’s sustained service to JEDEC and the standards community.

Youngho Lee, Samsung is recognized for his exceptional leadership and significant contributions to JC-45.1 and JC-45.4, and his instrumental role in defining DDR4 and DDR5 Fully Buffered DIMMs.

Technical Recognition Award

JEDEC’s award for technical achievement acknowledges outstanding contributions to technology standardization. The 2024 recipients are being recognized for their work on the following standards:

  • Bart Van Assche, Google - ZUFS
  • Sarah Ryu, Samsung - LPDDR7 and HBM4
  • Taek Woon (TK) Kim, Samsung - DDR5/X

Outstanding Leadership Award

This award acknowledges an individual’s outstanding service to JEDEC. The 2024 recipients are being recognized for many significant contributions as follows:

  • Michael Jiang, Montage Technology - leadership in JC-40.4
  • Youngbin Lee, Samsung - LPDDR5/X and LPDDR6
  • Rotem Sela, WDC - UFS and leadership in JC-64 and its TGs

Chairman of the Board Discretionary Awards

Recipients of the 2024 COB Discretionary Awards will be announced later this year.

Past Awards