JEDEC Awards: 2018 Honorees

Each year, JEDEC acknowledges the contributions of member company representatives who have demonstrated outstanding effort and dedication in support of the development of open industry standards in JEDEC, beyond the normal scope of committee activities.

JEDEC is honored to congratulate the following 2018 award winners and their companies.

Award of Excellence

The Award of Excellence is the most prestigious award bestowed by the Association, and it recognizes an individual’s sustained service to JEDEC and the standards community.

Hyun-Joong Kim of Samsung received the Award of Excellence in recognition of his exceptional leadership and significant technical contributions during the development of the DDR5 Standard.

Technical Recognition Award

JEDEC’s most significant award for technical achievement acknowledges outstanding contributions to technology standardization. The 2018 recipients are:

  • Michael Durkan, Mentor Graphics - for his exceptional technical expertise that informed the development of the XML Schema
  • Scott Lee, Microsoft and Benjamin Lim, Samsung - both received awards for exceptional leadership during the development of the DDR4 standard

Outstanding Leadership Award

This award acknowledges an individual’s outstanding service to JEDEC. The 2018 recipients are:

  • Osamu Nagashima, Micron and Eric Oh, Samsung - both received awards for outstanding leadership during the development of the LPDDR5 standard
  • George Vergis, Intel - for his outstanding leadership during the development of the DDR5 standard and related modules

Past Awards