JEDEC Awards Program: 2015 Honorees

Each year, JEDEC acknowledges the contributions of member company representatives who have demonstrated outstanding effort and dedication in support of the development of open industry standards in JEDEC, beyond the normal scope of committee activities.

JEDEC is honored to congratulate the following 2015 award winners and their companies.

Industry Leadership Award: Seijin Kim

The Industry Leadership Award was created in 2015 to recognize the importance of executive level support for the standards development process.

Seijin Kim, Senior Vice President, Mobile Division, Samsung Electronics has been presented with the first JEDEC Industry Leadership Award.  Mr. Kim was recognized for his exemplary dedication and exceptional contributions to JEDEC and the advancement of the semiconductor industry.  For over 15 years, he has been a steadfast champion within Samsung on behalf of JEDEC standards development work.

Mr. Kim played a key leadership role in helping to define essential memory storage standards such as e.MMC (embedded multimedia card), UFS (Universal Flash Storage), and the LPDDRx mobile memory standards.  All of these standards have had a significant, positive impact on the ability of the industry to keep pace with ever-increasing expectations for mobile device performance.

Outstanding Leadership Award: Frank Chu

The Outstanding Leadership Award acknowledges an individual’s outstanding service to JEDEC. Candidates are nominated by their peers, and the final honorees are determined by the JEDEC Board of Directors. The 2015 recipient of this award is:

Frank Chu, HGST, for his exemplary leadership and many individual contributions that expedited the completion of JESD230: NAND Flash Interface Interoperability Standard, and for his leadership as Chair in focusing and providing direction for the JC-64.8 Subcommittee on Solid State Drives.

Past Awards